Over the past decade, there has been a steady but constant decline in the participation of privately run schools in the Lagos State Principals Cup. This trend may be traced back to the period when the Principals Cup hit a rocky patch and the competition was no longer held regularly on an annual basis.

While the Ministry of Education has actively invited non-state run schools to come back and embrace the revamped GTBank-Lagos State Principals Cup, many of the schools have still not heeded this call, resulting in limited participation. GTBank however realizes that the fabric of grass root football development is incomplete without the participation of all schools in Lagos State, Federal and Private.

To ensure full participation of all schools, GTBank decided to create The Masters Cup in partnership with Lagos State First Generation Heritage College Association (LAFGHECA). This football tournament involves the Heritage Schools as well as other Private Schools.

The Heritage schools are those that dominated the Principals Cup for over 3 decades since its inception in 1954. These are the schools that evoke fond memories of when the Principals Cup was the pre-eminent local tournament in the country. Matches amongst these schools were bound to be major, much talked-about events not only in Lagos but all over the country. Legends were made and history was created anytime these schools faced-off. These schools formed the history of the Principals Cup.

The spirit of the Masters Cup remains the same as that of the Principals Cup – to identify local football talents in Nigerian Colleges whilst creating a platform for participating schools to compete in a peaceful atmosphere, learn the principle of “fair play” and eschew violence in football.

The Heritage Cup competition, now tagged ‘Masters Cup’ was officially announced on 21st February, 2012. The competition kicked-off with 21 participating schools.

More Programs in Education